Conditions

Low in the morning, high in the evening
the thermometer has the right idea
I could be high all the time
if I could only see ya
since that is impossible
I strive for an even keel
I try not to act crazy
even when that’s how I feel

Grandma said, “the devil hates a coward”
but I didn’t want him for a friend
he makes temptation so appealing
it’s hard not to give in
The fires he lights
are hard to extinguish
and the smoke makes it hard
to see your true wish

there’s a weariness that sets in
when you feel burned out
one of those conditions
you can’t do much about
try to get it home
before it crashes
lock yourself in
something may rise from the ashes

2 thoughts on “Conditions

Leave a Reply

