Good Intentions

The field sobriety test was a fail
never was good at walking a line
so I take my mail at the county jail
til I pay off the fine
Guess I got a little too free
now I’m learning responsible
wish I’d listened closer
back when I was in school
This sweat dripping off my nose
is a sign of my good intentions
making up for stuff that happened
when I wasn’t paying attention
If hard work never hurt anyone
why does my back ache
how long is this likely to go on
before I get a break
Temptation is a poor companion
it’ll pester you until you give in
take you from the top to the bottom
then convince you to do it again
Three steps up and two steps back
is not the greatest progress
tangled up in your own tracks
til you end up in a mess
This sweat dripping off my nose
is a sign of my good intentions
making up for stuff that happened
when I wasn’t paying attention
If hard work never hurt anyone
why does my back ache
but I’m gonna keep keeping on
until I get a break

Leave a Reply

