Feathered Friends

I might see storm clouds
I might see sunshine
or something in between
if I peek out of the blinds
the room is a lttle dark
some might even say gloomy
but my friends the birds are out there
and they’re still singing to me

The lies that I tell myself
about what matters or not
may help me through the night
but I don’t believe a lot
a seasoned seeker of the truth
is not easy to deceive
I just wish I didn’t have
so many things to grieve

So serenade me, feathered friends
lift me on your wings
so I’ll believe it’s worth it
when I, too, choose to sing

One thought on “Feathered Friends

Leave a Reply

