Ifs and Buts

It’s poor form to gripe about
things that are your fault
so I try to keep my regrets
locked inside a vault
but now and then one will escape
and give me a hard time
make me feel I’m guilty
of some awful crime
Watch out for what ifs and buts
they can easily drive you nuts
if you let them have their way
they can ruin a good day
I’m a warehouse of bad ideas
a museum of poor decisions
a segment about what not to do
on the news on television
but we want what we want
so we rationalize
the finer points of right and wrong
and if our ass winds up in a sling
a sling is where it may belong
Watch out for what ifs and buts
they can easily drive you nuts
if you let them have their way
they can ruin a good day
So I didn’t come to lodge a complaint
it is what it is, it ain’t what it ain’t
it’s a pretty good joke far as I can see
even if the joke seems to be on me
if I had a dollar for everything I’ve done wrong
I’d be on a beach somewhere
and somebody else’d be singing this song
Watch out for what ifs and buts
they can easily drive you nuts
if you let them have their way
they can ruin a good day

One thought on “Ifs and Buts

Leave a Reply

