Guilty

Guilty as hell about looking back
to check on the progress I’ve made
guilty of ignoring unpleasant facts
that might rain on my parade
guilty of holding on too long
to things that burn my hands
guilty of abandoning
numerous dreams and plans

None of these things
is a chargeable crime
but they make me guilty
of wasting my time
I don’t even notice
til it’s already wasted
but I still remember
exactly how it tasted

Since time has wasted me
I guess I’m evening the score
and if God is willing
I’ll be wasting some more

What I have been has created
what I have become
sometimes I’m guilty
of just playing dumb
I cannot return
to where I came from
I can’t have it all
so I’ll settle for some

Since time has wasted me
I guess I’m evening the score
and if God is willing
I’ll be wasting some more

One thought on “Guilty

Leave a Reply

