Almost Saved

Defying the heartaches
that defined us so long
denying defeats
and the rights that went wrong
it’s not really over
til we throw in the towel
til we can’t push the button
til we can’t buy a vowel

Got my head in the clouds
and one foot in the grave
but I still believe
that I’m almost saved

you work half the night
you sleep half the day
it don’t leave much time
to go out and play
besides, drinking and driving
has become frowned upon
so I’ll sit right here
and have another one

Got my head in my butt
and one foot in the grave
still I believe
that I’m almost saved

If there’s an occasion
I could maybe rise to it
if there was something to do
I might even go do it
just a buzzard in a tree
waitin’ for something to die
a fish in a stream waiting
for some food to float by

Got my head in the clouds
got one foot in the grave
still I believe
that I’m almost saved

Leave a Reply

