Shortcomings

Most days I feel fraudulent
for not using the gifts that heaven’s sent
nearly as well as I know I could
for passing a day without doing much good

Your shortcomings are easier to forgive
than mine, with which I’m forced to live
easier to forgive than to repair
maybe that is why these prayers

rush from my heart like a mountain stream
that the craziness is only a dream
that I can have a stronger heart
and do a better job of doing my part

One thought on “Shortcomings

Leave a Reply

