Imagining

I listen to the rain
imagining I’m sane
imagining there’s a reason for all this
I imagine God above
will save me with his love
and I don’t have to fear the abyss

The clouds are quite bright
with the reflected light
from the distant shopping center
the trees stand silhoutted
ghosts of everything regretted
come back to haunt the repenter

I know God above
will save me with his love
and I don’t have to fear the abyss
but the dripping in the eaves
the wet carpet of leaves
remind me somehow
of something I miss

2 thoughts on “Imagining

Leave a Reply

