I Miss My Forest Sometimes

I don’t know what happened
but I miss my forest sometimes
a breeze rustling my leaves
birds nesting and singing
I miss my bark

Don’t know where
they all went
leaving me here alone

It’s a good place
to stand, much to see
and contemplate, but
I miss my forest sometimes
I guess it’s my nature

To stick out like a sore
thumb was not my intention
I did nothing
but hold my ground
I miss my bark, and birds,
leaves and even insects.
I miss my forest

Sometimes, but here
I am, dammit, and here
I’ll stay until a higher power
blows me away

Leave a Reply

