Endangered

I’m feeling like an endangered species
longing for the twentieth century.
My cultural references go unrecognized,
memories I share cause a rolling of eyes.
Conversations I hear have foregone conclusions
they seem pointless as hip-hop country fusion
I watch old movies and shows on the tv station
because the new ones are mostly poor imitations.

I’m feeling like an endangered species
longing for the twentieth century.
The reaper keeps swinging that deadly blade
we keep saying good-by to connections we’ve made
til it gets a little lonely on the open trail
remembering the shelter that never failed
but keeping on keeping on seems to be what we do
even when we’ve got the endangered species blues

One thought on “Endangered

Leave a Reply

