Tricky

I might fall in love
three or four times a day
but not hard enough
that I’d ever say
the kinds of things
I might regret later
don’t want to turn a friend
into a hater

I know what love takes
I don’t have it to give
still in the shadow
of the last love I lived
the cracks in my heart
won’t stand too much trauma
so my head tries to steer
me away from any drama

But love can be tricky
it won’t knock on the door
it crawls through the window
and ties you up on the floor
it that happens, mercy
is all I’d ask for
something along the lines
of the sea and the shore

Too old to run
too tired to fight
if cunning doesn’t save me
whatever happens is alright

2 thoughts on “Tricky

Leave a Reply

