Rocky

Outside the dirty window
the courtyard lamp defeats the darkness
about the same way
the refridgerator and air
conditioner keep silence at bay
not too well
there is little defense against
memories and thoughts
lurking beyond the circle of light
like hyenas desirous
of rending my flesh

There is a beam in my eye
there is a thorn in my side
I am weary and heavy laden
so if you seek a prophecy
remember, this is only me
the blind leading the blind
seeking that I might find
asking that I may receive
turning the page
that I may believe
a seed fallen on rocky soil
too stubborn to surrender

Leave a Reply

