Right Lane

I’m a right lane kind of guy
unless I need to turn
I don’t make jackrabbit starts
don’t have the fuel to burn
I’m the one that’s moving,
not my destination
no hurry or worry I’ll miss something
I avoid those situations

where drama is on the menu
I’d just as soon not go
got no appetite for that
but I suppose I know
that if my convictions
had the courage of my hunches
I’d wade right in
and take my punches

Does my distaste for conflict
stem from indifference or fear
it’s a valid question I’ve been
studying for years
here in the laboratory
of my secret hide-out
if my courage finds a conviction to stand on
we’ll resolve the doubts

2 thoughts on “Right Lane

Leave a Reply

