Common Strange

From the corner of my ear
I hear laughing and talking
Feels a little weird 
as I pass by walking
But my baggage doesn’t show
so I’m safe, I am ignored
though you never really know
when you’re living by that sword

too common to be strange
too strange to be the norm
when the target’s out of range
and it keeps changing form

now and then you recognize
the strangeness in another’s eyes
there is a comfort in the commonness
but it’s not the same
as feeling blessed

too common to be strange
too strange to be the norm
but there’s no one to blame
it’s just living in the storm

Leave a Reply

