Warble

Waking to the warble
of a bird at the feeder
gentle reminder
that the world goes about
its business without my help
luckily largely ignoring me

a number of things
I’d rather not do stand
between me and that
which I’d rather. Those
disreputable friends
our parents warned us about,
procrastination and indecision,
add a smirking peril
to the situation.

the blankets feel good
and history suggests
only a neglible difference
in the long run between
best efforts and no efforts.
What could a few more
minutes hurt, asks the devil.
But so much can happen
in the blink of an eye
I throw back the covers
and get up, with a sigh

Leave a Reply

