Years Beyond My Wisdom

In the years beyond my wisdom
I can’t help wondering at times
what the hell I was thinking
a king of questionable choices
trading tomorrow and often
the day after for a good today
(I had it on expert advice)
with mixed results it’s true
now they are all yesterdays

I have become stingier
with my tomorrows
(it’s easier to take today’s
lumps when you are the only
one getting lumpy) because
tomorrows (mine and yours)
are an endangered species
which all our conservation efforts
will not save from extinction

The trick is to live today
in such a way as to make
your yesterdays and tomorrows good,
 hoping there are enough
tomorrows to learn how.

3 thoughts on “Years Beyond My Wisdom

Leave a Reply

