Half Open

The demons dropped by
for a visit
to tease me
incessantly
about my failures
and weaknesses
I tried to take it for awhile
with my customary smile
after all, the truth that hurts
has been know to set you free

So I’m looking at the world
through half-open blinds
wondering what happened
to my peace of mind

When I’d had enough
I reached out to Clarence
(Jimmy Stewart’s friend
from the famous old movie)
for some reassurance
that I’m not all bad
and to help remember
good times I’ve had

We loaded up both
pans on the scale
it was a pretty even balance
until we added
the Love I have known
the mysterious Grace
that God has shown
then the demons got mad
took their ball and went home

Still looking at the world
through half-open blinds
humbled but thankful
for a small peace of mind

David Strang's photo.
4 thoughts on “Half Open

  1. Hope is a difficult commodity to come by. It isn’t purchased through regular economic buying power and means. Those who want it still have to pay for it. Others may consider the cost too high.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

